My letter to the world

Introduce yourself here. One post per person. Use replies to those to discuss someone.

Moderator: Moderator

diane bartels

My letter to the world

Postby diane bartels » Mon May 31, 2010 2:06 am

I have actually never done this. So, got big ole glass of Zinfandel, might as well - Here goes!

Me. 5'7'' ahem lbs. brown hair, greenish brown eyes. Glasses. Not 16. Vaguely remember seeing JFK's funeral on TV.

Learned to read young. Been doing it ever since. If written material cannot run away fast, I read it. Been scribbling stories and poetry since about 8. Do not yet have balls or drive to try publishing, or workshops. Do not take rejection well.

Been in Chicago, the city proper and burbs since birth. Eldest of 6 kids, 4 boys and two girls. My brother Mike died in 04. Drug overdose, probably deliberate. He was one of the most talented visual artists I have ever seen. Self taught. Was into metal music. Could draw things from the albulm covers that looked better than the original.

My parents are both gone too, mom in 02, dad in 06. My aunt Dolores died in 03. All cancer or its aftermath. The 00's kinda sucked.

I have never been married. Was engaged once for a long time to a sweet man named Paul. He could not overcome his drug and alcohol addiction. We broke up. He passed away. Went a touch wild after that. Many relationships with no past and no future. Occurred to me a couple few years ago that I do not do relationships well. So I stopped.

No children. My younger sister Karen has three - Vincent, 18, whom I have posted about here. He is one of the most amazing people I know. Rachel, 10, a beautiful, gentle soul. And Joey, 7, a sweet smart little guy.