Kafkahead, or How I got here

Introduce yourself here. One post per person. Use replies to those to discuss someone.

Moderator: Moderator

Kafkahead

Kafkahead, or How I got here

Postby Kafkahead » Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:36 am

Hey there. I'm Kafkahead, I'm 17 and a big big fan of the works of Mr. Ellison. I'm an amateur writer that writes intesively and says "Fuck you" to people who demand freebies, and all because of Harlan.

I first learned about the work of Harlan Ellison when I bought a science fiction anthology called "Masterpieces". It was fine selection of stories, chosen by Orson Scott Card, and divided into three categories: The Golden Age, The New Wave and the Media Generation. And the first story to pop up in the New Wave section was " "Repent, Harlequin!" Said the Tick-tock Man". The amusing title and description of Harlan's work was enough to catch my attention and grasp it tightly, like a boa from the jungle. I read it in one sitting. After I was done, I had to lie down...It wasn't "1984" or "Brave New World", but something along the same lines, where the very spirit of rebellion was celebrated as a source of powerful criticism against an opressive system.